THE CENTER OF ANNA MARIA ISLAND BOARD MEETING MINUTES

November 1, 2022

<u>Attendance:</u> Christine Major Hicks, Daniel Anderson, Chris Culhane, Kathy Morgan Johnson, Don Purvis, Jim McDaniel, Liz Hager.

<u>Absent with excuse:</u> David Zaccagnino, Mark Short, Mike Thrasher, Charlie Salem, Mary Catherine Melancon, Ben Webb.

Call to Order: 5:50 pm. Meeting delayed due to fire alarm.

<u>Approval of Meeting Minutes</u>: Minutes from the prior meeting of the Board will be reviewed for approval at the next Board meeting.

<u>Committee Reports</u>:

<u>Governance</u>: David Zaccagnino has notified the Board that he is taking a leave of absence as Board President and Chair.

<u>Finance</u>: Financial report given by Treasurer Daniel Anderson. September program income increased 29% from the prior year. General, indirect and administrative expenses increased 33% due to the Center reinstating health insurance and a retirement plan for employees. The budget for the 2022-2023 year was presented. Mike Thrasher and Jim McDaniel are working on the Annual Report brochure.

<u>Development and Fundraising Report:</u> Jim McDaniel reported that the Go Green and Clean campaign is underway. The Center is looking to get involved with environmental awareness or action events such as beach cleanups, Bimini Bay Research, scavenger hunts and more. Chris Culhane is meeting with the Intuitive Foundation.

Event Calendar. Lester Family Fun Day is scheduled for December 3, 2022.

Upcoming concert events are:

- Beatle Mania on December 10, 2022.
- Boston-Tommy DeCarlo on January 21, 2023.
- Grand Funk Railroad on February 25, 2023.
- The Orchestra on March 21, 2023.

Strategic Planning Committee No report.

<u>Executive Committee</u>: An email vote will be taken on filling the Board Chair vacancy as the requisite quorum was not in attendance.

<u>Management Report</u>: Chris Culhane reported that Wash Construction has not completed the bathroom/shower project. They are behind schedule, and he will contact them.

The meeting adjourned at 6:44 pm.

Minutes respectfully submitted by Kathy Morgan Johnson.